Phd · PhD life · research

Fake it ’til you make it

As a newbie researcher, I wonder if ignorance is bliss.  In my first 7 months as a PhD student, I was able to develop a research proposal, submit an ethics application and have it approved and conduct a study in Nepal.  I’m not exactly sure how I pulled this off and my unrealistic expectations magically seemed to work out in the end.

Conducting research is the pursuit of new knowledge.  I think what makes it interesting is the challenge of journeying through unchartered territory.  In this pursuit, you push yourself into doing new things and discovering new ideas.  I have this overwhelming sense that I have no idea what I’m doing but I wonder if this is part of process.  Being completely familiar and confident in your study material may seem redundant and boring.

One thing I’m getting very good at is ‘faking’ my expertise and knowledge.  People give me way more credit than I feel qualified to receive but who wants to be one of those egotistical academics anyway.  My mantra of ‘fake it ’til you make it’ is serving me well thus far and I hope I never reach that moment of feeling overly confident and familiar.

IMG_1676
Doing an ultrasound on one of my participants in Nepal
Leave a Reply

